2015 Competition Winners

The League of the Schenectady Symphony Orchestra held its 52st Annual Anthony Anthony P. Stefan Scholarship Awards. Auditions were held at the First Reformed Church in the Stockade. The competition is open to all local music students with awards going to students who demonstrate excellence in the area of musical performance.

The competition is open to high school students who reside in Schenectady or its surrounding areas, and who have achieved excellence in the performance of an orchestral instrument. Winners receive a monetary prize to be used to further their studies or purchase instruments. They are also invited to play at the annual SSO League Musicale to be held at the Jewish Community Center on May 21. The concert begins at 7 PM and is free and open to the public.

The winners this year are:

Jacquelyn O'Brien

First Place – Jacquelyn O’Brien – Violin

Michael Zhu

Second Place – Michael Zhu – Violin

Evan Ducreay

Third Place – Evan Ducreay – Violin

Mark Lipina

Honorable Mention – Mark Lipina – French Horn























The Louise DeFeo Parillo Piano Competition, was also held recently, rescheduled after a power failure at SCCC required a change in date.

Three judges jointly evaluated the candidates in blind evaluation process and they selected two 1st place winners: Aaron Chan and Jihu Mun.

Aaron is a 12th grader from Niskayuna. He studies with Mary Moran. As his elective, he performed the Transcendental Etude No. 6 “Storm,” Op.11 by Sergey Lyapunov.


Aaron Chan, Co-winner Parillo Piano Competition

Jihn Mun, Co-Winner Parillo Piano Competition

Jihn Mun, Co-Winner Parillo Piano Competition

Jihu is a 10th grader from Cohoes. He studies with Dr. Young Kim. As his elective, he performed Jeux d’eau by Ravel.

Aaron and Jihu will join the Stefan Scholarship Award Winners on Thursday, May 21 at 7:00 pm at the Schenectady JCC for the League of the Schenectady Symphony’s Annual Meeting and Musicale.  This event is free and open to the public.

Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *