Stefan and Parillo Competition winners showcased at the League of Schenectady Symphony Orchestra’s Musicale  May 23, 2018


Masako Yamada (Parillo Chair), Stefan Winners – Joyce Cheng, Aram Kim, MaryAnn Gulyas (Stefan Chair), Parillo Winners –  Jonathan Indajang, William Lauricella.

Special Thanks to Masako Yamada and MaryAnn Gulyas

Anthony R. Stefan Scholarship Competition

Anthony Stefan Scholarship Competition, with awards to be given to high school students who show excellence in the performance of an orchestral instrument.

Louise DeFeo Parillo Piano Competition

This competition was created in 1995 for young pianists in the Capital District to honor the memory of Louise DeFeo Parillo. Mrs. Parillo was a locally prominent pianist who had her own radio show on WGY in the 1930s and ‘40s and was very active in area music groups, including the Etude Club. The aim of the Parillo competition is to encourage a life-long enjoyment of music in young pianists as accomplished professionals or dedicated amateurs, reflecting the spirit of Louise DeFeo Parillo herself.

Winners  of both Competitions are awarded cash prizes and will be invited to perform at a joint concert with the winners of the Anthony R. Stefan Scholarship Competition. Especially promising students are considered for further performance opportunities, such as concerti with the full Orchestra or solo piano recitals, at prestigious local venues such as Union College Memorial Chapel or Proctor’s Theater.

Both competitions are sponsored by the League of the Schenectady Symphony.

Check back in February of 2019 for dates and competition information.





Posted in Uncategorized.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *